Creating hanging flower pot combinations-I am experimenting, just watch.

May 27, 2009

Watch as I experiment with creating side planting hanging flower combinations. 

niagarafalls-ontario1 What Color!!

I started with four Bloom Master hanging baskets. These baskets have holes in the sides. The first thing I had to do was research which plants will take a lot of sunlight since I don’t have shade and also which plants do well in hanging baskets. Using this information, I have tried to create four different combinations of flowers to see what thrives the best and which ones create the most fantastic producing, eye-catching hanging baskets. This picture shows an example of what my end goal should turn out like-breathtaking.

The planting process.

.img_1937

 This picture shows the first result of planting. I started with potting mix that already has nutrients added and is moisture controlling. I had to moisten the potting mix before putting in the pot. My biggest problem was getting too excited and having too many plants to choose from. Not having made these combinations before, it was hard to imagine the end results after the plants have matured-but I tried.
In this planter I have planted alyssum, gazanias, and dusty miller in the top. The top side row is a mix of begonias and alyssum. The middle row is a mix of coleus.
The bottom row is a mix of vinca vine, calibrochoa and pansies.
It is still too cold to put the planters outside, but as soon as it warms up, these plants will be ready to grow.

 img_1974

We did have a few days of sun which really helped but—-
Update-cold and rainy again. I am having a terrible time with the coleus-partially because they are too small(young) and partially because of 7 little kittens.

Stay tuned as I add updates and watch this pot grow!

 IMG_2005resized

The weather has gotten better, but not ideal.  We have had a few warm days, but not many.  It is amazing how fast plants will grow when they get some warmth-but the cool weather has really slowed them down.  I thought that this planter would be my most interesting, but as it turns out, it is one of the slowest growing.  The coleus, wax begonias and allysum have been especially slow.  Sometimes that can just be the year.

 I will show you some of the other planters that are doing better. 

IMG_2006resized This planter is a combination of fiber optic grass and petunias on top.  The top outside row consists of dusty miller and petunias and the bottom rows are pansies and petunias.

 

 

IMG_2014resized This planter has been my favorite so far.  It is a variety of gazenias, pansies and petunias on top.  The sides are a combination of double petunias, geraniums and vinca vine.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2010resizedThis planter box has a combination of petunias, double petunias, a few pansies, and on top is a sunbine.  When the weather gets warmer and this box has a chance to grow, it will cascade beautifully.

 

IMG_2017resized

And last, these strawberries were planted less than two weeks ago from winter storage plants.  They have really taken off.  Once they get bigger, I will lift the box up and let the strawberries cascade down. 

 

 

I will update these pictures as the weather gets warmer and the pots grow.  How much fun can flower gardening be??  Alot!!

 

Leave a Reply

